1. News & Issues

What are the Gun Laws in Oklahoma?

A Synopsis of State Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms

By

Caution: This summary is meant for general purposes only. Firearm laws frequently change and the following answers may not reflect changes in the laws.

Quick Reference

Rifles and Shotguns
  • Permit to purchase rifles and shotguns? No
  • Registration of rifles and shotguns? No
  • Licensing of owners of rifles and shotguns? No
  • Permit to carry rifles and shotguns? No

Handguns

  • Permit to purchase handgun? No
  • Registration of handguns? No
  • Licensing of owners of handguns? No
  • Permit to carry handguns? Yes

Purchase/Transfer

No state permit is required for the purchase of a rifle, shotgun or handgun.

Residents may purchase legal firearms and ammunition from contiguous states, and residents of contiguous states may purchase firearms and ammunition in Oklahoma.

It is unlawful to sell or give any firearm to any person under 18 years of age, except a rifle or shotgun given by a parent to a child for education, hunting, or sport.

It is unlawful for any parent or guardian to permit his or her child to possess any firearm if aware of a substantial risk that the child will use the weapon in a crime or if the child has been adjudicated a delinquent or convicted as an adult of any criminal offense.

It is unlawful for any person to knowingly furnish any firearm to any person who is a felon, a delinquent, under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or is mentally or emotionally unbalanced or disturbed.

Possession

No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
  • It is unlawful for any person under 18 years of age to possess any weapon, except rifles or shotguns used in education, hunting, or sport. Any firearm confiscated from a person under 18 by law enforcement upon arrest or detainment is subject to forfeiture.

  • It is unlawful for a felon to possess any firearm or to have a firearm in any vehicle. This same prohibition applies to anyone adjudicated a delinquent child for an offense which would have constituted a felony if committed by an adult, for ten years after such adjudication.

  • It is unlawful for any person under the supervision of the Department of Corrections to possess or control a firearm, or have one in any vehicle or residence

  • It is unlawful for any unauthorized person to possess a firearm on any school property or vehicle, except for education, hunting, or sport, and those firearms legally carried in a vehicle, provided the vehicle transports a student to or from school and does not remain on school property.

Carrying

It is unlawful for any person, except for peace officers on duty, to carry a firearm upon or about his person, or in any container, except for purposes of hunting, fishing, education or recreation or by a valid Concealed Carry License (“CCL”).

A person is permitted to carry firearms open and not concealed when hunting, during safety class, target shooting, for a military function, for a police function, or for entertainment events or historical reenactments.

A person is permitted to carry unloaded firearms open and not concealed when going to or from the person’s private residence or vehicle, or to a gun shop, gun show, or hunting, target shooting, or other sporting activity.

A person may transport an unloaded firearm openly in a motor vehicle at any time.

It is unlawful to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle, though there are some exceptions for firearms carried by those with a concealed carry license.

It is unlawful for any person other than the owner, proprietor, or a peace officer to possess a firearm in any establishment where alcoholic beverages are consumed.

A person with a valid CCL may carry a firearm onto premises where alcohol is sold, provided that the sale of alcohol is not the primary business.

It is unlawful to carry a firearm for the purpose of unlawfully injuring another person.

It is unlawful to carry or use firearms while under the influence of alcohol, any unprescribed drug, or any prescribed drug that could cause abnormal behavior.

Concealed Carry License

The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (“OSBI”) is authorized to issue a Concealed Carry License (“CCL”).

To apply for a concealed carry license a person must be a U.S. citizen, an Oklahoma resident, 21 years old, have completed a firearms safety and training course and submit all necessary forms and fees.

Disqualifications for eligibility for a CCL are:

  • Any felony conviction or adjudication as a delinquent.

  • Adjudication as a mentally incompetent person; any involuntary commitment for mental illness, condition, or disorder.

  • Any false or misleading statement on the application for a handgun license.

  • Conviction of any of the following misdemeanor offenses in any state: assault and battery causing serious physical injury, aggravated assault and battery, or a second assault and battery conviction, stalking, a violation relating to a protection from domestic abuse law, illegal drug use or possession.

  • Any attempted suicide or other condition relating to or indicating mental instability.

  • Current treatment for a mental illness.

  • Habitual misdemeanor criminal activity.

  • An outstanding felony warrant.


The following are disqualifications for a period of three years:
  • Subject to the provisions of a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for a felony offense.

  • Treatment for a mental illness, condition or disorder which required medication or supervision.

  • Inpatient treatment for substance abuse.

  • Two or more convictions of public intoxication.

  • Two or more misdemeanor convictions relating to intoxication or driving under the influence.


Arrest for an alleged commission of, a charge pending for, or subject to the provisions of a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution for any one or more of the following misdemeanor offenses:
  • Any assault and battery which caused serious physical injury.

  • Any second or subsequent assault and battery.

  • Any aggravated assault and battery, stalking, any violation of a protection from domestic abuse law.

  • Any violation relating to illegal drug use or possession.


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.