1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

What are the Gun Laws in Nevada?

A Synopsis of State Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms

By

State Requirements

Rifles and Shotguns
  • Permit to purchase rifles and shotguns? No.
  • Registration of rifles and shotguns? No.
  • Licensing of owners of rifles and shotguns? No.
  • Permit to carry rifles and shotguns? No.
Handguns
  • Permit to purchase handgun? No.
  • Registration of handguns? No.*
  • Licensing of owners of handguns? No.
  • Permit to carry handguns? Yes.

* As of October 1, 2007, Clark County requires individuals who are in the county for more than sixty days to register their handguns with local law enforcement. Registration of newly acquired handguns must be within seventy-two hours after taking title by purchase, gift or other transfer.

Caution: This summary is meant for general purposes only. Firearm laws frequently change.

Purchase

No state permit is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun.

Any person who sells or barters any pistol or revolver capable of being concealed upon the person to a child under the age of 18 years with reckless disregard of whether the child is under 18 years old, or has knowledge or reason to believe that the child is under 18 years old, is guilty of a category B felony.

Possession

    No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun.

    A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a firearm unless accompanied by or under the immediate charge of an adult.

    It is unlawful for a person convicted of a felony to own a pistol or possess any firearm.

    It is unlawful to carry or possess any firearm while on the property of the University and Community College System of Nevada or a private or public school or while in a vehicle of a private or public school without written permission.

    It is unlawful to control or actually possess a firearm while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance.

Carrying

It is unlawful to carry concealed upon the person a handgun or other firearm without a permit to carry. State law does not prohibit the open carrying of a firearm, but one should exercise caution when carrying a firearm in public.

Exceptions to carrying a concealed firearm include:

  • Sheriffs, constables, marshals, peace officers, policemen, and special police officers.

  • Any person summoned by a peace officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while actually engaged in assisting the officer.

  • Members of the Armed Forces of the U.S. when on duty.
The sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a firearm concealed to any person qualified to possess a firearm under state and federal law who:
  • Submits an application;

  • Is at least 21 years of age;

  • Is not a felon or otherwise precluded from owning a firearm;

  • Has demonstrated competence with a firearm by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that applicant successfully completed a course approved by the sheriff issuing the permit, or successfully completed a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety.

    Such a course must include instruction in the use of each firearm to which the application pertains.

An application must be completed and signed under oath by the applicant. The signature must be witnessed by an employee of the sheriff or notarized by a notary public. The application must include:

  • The name, address, place and date of birth, social security number, occupation and employer of the applicant,

  • A complete set of fingerprints taken by the sheriff or his agent;

  • A frontal-view colored photograph taken by the sheriff or his agent;

  • Driver’s license or identification card number issued by the department;

  • The make, model and caliber of each authorized semiautomatic firearm to which the application pertains;

  • Permits for revolvers pertain to all revolvers owned and need not be listed separately.
Within 120 days after a complete application is submitted, the sheriff shall grant or deny the application.

If the application is denied, the sheriff shall send the applicant written notification explaining the reasons for the denial. The applicant may seek judicial review of the denial by filing a petition in the district court for the county in which the applicant filed his application.

A judicial review must be limited to a determination of whether the denial was arbitrary, capricious or otherwise characterized by an abuse of discretion. If the application is granted, the sheriff shall issue the permit.

A permit is valid for 5 years.

A non-refundable fee not to exceed $60.00 is charged.

Each permittee shall carry the permit, together with proper identification whenever the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed firearm.

A permittee shall notify the sheriff who issued the permit in writing within 30 days if permanent address changes; or the permit is lost, stolen or destroyed.

An application for the renewal of a permit must be completed and signed under oath by the applicant; contain a statement that the applicant is eligible to receive permit and must demonstrate competence with a firearm.

The renewal fee is $25.00.

The sheriff shall deny or revoke a permit if he determines that the applicant or permittee:

  • Has an outstanding warrant for his arrest;

  • Has been judicially declared incompetent or insane;

  • Has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years;

  • Has habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that his normal faculties are impaired within the previous 5 years;

  • Has been subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to the court’s withholding of the entry of judgment for conviction of a felony or suspension of sentence for the conviction of a felony within the previous 5 years;

  • Has been convicted of a crime involving the use or threatened use of force or violence punishable as a misdemeanor within the previous 3 years;

  • Has been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or is currently subject to restraining order, injunction or other order for protection against domestic violence; and is currently on parole or probation.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.