Possession Continued:It is unlawful for a person less than 18 years of age to knowingly possess a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long. It shall be a defense if such person less than 18 years of age was:
- In attendance at a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course.
- Engaging in practice in the use of such firearm or target shooting at an established range authorized by the governing body of the jurisdiction in which such range is located.
- Engaging in an organized competition involving the use of such firearm.
- Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license.
- Traveling with any such firearm in such person’s possession being unloaded to or from any activity described in the above paragraphs, only if such firearm is secured, unloaded and outside the immediate access of such person; on real property under the control of such person’s parent, legal guardian or grandparent and who has the permission of such parent, legal guardian or grandparent to possess such firearm; or at such person’s residence and who, with the permission of such person’s parent or legal guardian, possesses such firearm for the purpose of exercising the rights of defense.
CarryingState law does not generally prohibit the open carrying of a handgun.
The attorney general shall issue licenses to carry concealed weapons to qualified persons. These licenses are valid throughout the state for a period of four years from the date of issuance.
Verification by law enforcement that a person holds a valid license to carry a concealed weapon may be accomplished by a record check using the person’s vehicle tag and driver’s license information.
A valid license, issued by any other state or the District of Columbia, to carry concealed weapons shall be recognized in this state, but only while the holder is not a resident of Kansas, the standards for issuance of such state licenses or permits are equal or greater than Kansas standards. The attorney general will maintain and publish a list of such states.
The attorney general shall issue a license to carry a concealed weapon if the applicant:
- Is a resident of the county where the applicant is a resident, and the applicant has been a resident of the state for six months or more immediately preceding the filing of the application.
- Is 21 years or more of age.
- Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a weapon.
- Has never been convicted or placed on diversion for a felony; or has been adjudicated as a committing an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult.
- Has not been, during the previous five years before the applicant has been submitted:
- A mentally ill person or involuntary patient.
- Committed for the abuse of a controlled substance.
- convicted or placed on diversion for a felony or misdemeanor violation of the uniform substance control act or has been adjudicated as a juvenile for an act that would be a misdemeanor under this act if committed by an adult
- Convicted or placed on diversion two or more times for driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Convicted or placed on diversion for a domestic violence misdemeanor or adjudicated as a juvenile for an act that would be a domestic violence misdemeanor if committed as adult.
- Convicted for criminal use of a weapon or has been adjudicated as a juvenile for criminal use of a weapon.
- Convicted of carrying a weapon while under the influence of drugs or alcohol or has been adjudicated as a juvenile for carrying a weapon under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- A mentally ill person or involuntary patient.
- Desires a legal means to carry a concealed weapon for lawful purposes.
- Presents evidence satisfactory of the attorney general that the applicant has satisfactorily completed a weapons safety and training course.
- Has not been adjudicated a disabled person under the act for obtaining a guardian and conservator, or both, or a similar act in another state unless the applicant was ordered restored to capacity three or more years before an application is submitted.
- Has not been dishonorably discharged from military service.
- Is a citizen of the United States.
- Is not subject to a restraining order issued under the protection from abuse act, under the protection from stalking act or any equivalent from another state.
Prior to renewal of the license the licensee shall submit evidence to the attorney general that the licensee has requalified by completion of an approved course given by an instructor of an approved weapons safety and training course.
The applicant shall submit to the sheriff of the county where the applicant resides, during any normal business hours:
- A completed application.
- A non-refundable fee not to exceed $150.
- If the applicant has not previously been issued a statewide license or if the applicant's license has permanently expired; the applicant must provide a photocopy of a certificate or a document verifying that the applicant has completed a weapons training and safety course, and a full frontal view photograph taken within the preceding 30 days.
The sheriff shall provide for the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and forwarded to the attorney general for the purposes of a criminal history records check. The sheriff shall also forward a copy of the application and $110.00 of the original license fee, or $50.00 of the renewal license fee, to the attorney general.
The sheriff may participate in the licensing process by submitting a voluntary report to the attorney general containing readily accessible information, corroborated by public records, which when combined with another enumerated factor, establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat to law enforcement and the public than the average citizen.