Caylee Anthony was missing for 31 days before law enforcement was notified.
Under Florida law at the time, not reporting a missing child or providing false information was a misdemeanor. Under the new law, failure to report a missing child under that age of 16 will be a third-degree felony.
If the child is harmed while missing, failure to report would be increased to a second-degree felony.
Casey's Lies Were Misdemeanors
After Caylee Anthony finally reported that her 2-year-old daughter Caylee was missing, she made several false statements to investigators about her disappearance, including that she was abducted by a fictitious babysitter.
Anthony was acquitted of murder charges in the case, but she was convicted of four counts of lying to investigators. Under Florida law at the time, the maximum sentence for each of those four misdemeanors would have been one year.
Consequently, Anthony was sentenced to time served while waiting for her murder trial on those charges. She is currently serving a year's probation on a unrelated check fraud charge.